His Last Wish

Before he went,
he said,
take these tickets,
and ascend to the sky,
with your daughter,
go far away,
go to the isle,
to Pathos,
and swim,
get sun burn,
love,
learn,
walk,
and enjoy all that you’ve got,

my gift to you,
dearest step daughter,
a holiday first for you,
enjoy it,
my last wish,

drink unlimited cocktails,
eat your favorite dish,
tell Bonnie she is loved,
and not to eat chips,
but as much desert as possible,

Oh, this is awful,
just let me go,
let me go,
let me go,

and so he went,
his last ascent,
into the stars,
a crazy diamond,
lighting our way into the night,

My step Dad,
father,
and his last wish.

Leave a Reply

